Student Welfare

Our model of student welfare is centred around a House model. The House coordinator and assistants are the first point of call for parents when wishing to discuss issues of student welfare and well-being. Our staff establish strong positive relationships with the students and families that belong to their House.

The House team aims to:

  • Provide a positive and meaningful teacher/student relationship
  • Be a source of advocacy for each student
  • Along with the student develop an Individual Pathways Plan
  • Track, monitor, report and evaluate students' achievements, standards and progress

The Houses at Gungahlin College, are more than just 'roll call' or weekly notices. It is a sixth class for students and provides them with opportunities to:

  • Improve their study and time management skills
  • Build resilience
  • Contribute to the school and wider community
  • Take on leadership roles
  • Be explicitly prepared for the transition to a post-school world
  • Develop a stronger sense of belonging with their peers, the staff and the school

Our Houses

Our large student population is divided up into eight houses: Aquila, Centaurus, Draco, Hydra, Orion, Phoenix, Scorpius, and Tucana.

Each House has a House Coordinator and two House Assistants, overseeing the:

  • Student achievement and wellbeing of students in a particular house
  • Coordination of College activities that foster 'competitive spirit' between the houses

House activities organised by our House Coordinator team are designed to promote student well-being and a thriving college community. House coordinators and assistants are supported by the Director of Student Achievement and Wellbeing, a school counsellor, careers and transition officers, the defence transition mentor and the Student Administration team. Our college executive structure, too, is aligned around student welfare with an Associate Principal of the college, responsible for overseeing student well-being, transitions and cultural competencies.


House Team Contacts

AQUILA
Coordinators Email
Stephanie Boxall: House Coordinator stephanie.boxall@ed.act.edu.au
Lisa Green: House Assistant lisa.green@ed.act.edu.au
CENTAURUS
Coordinators Email
Andrew Beecher: House Coordinator andrew.beecher@ed.act.edu.au
Stephanie Williams: House Assistant stephanie.j.williams@ed.act.edu.au
Adam Salter: House Assistant adam.salter@ed.act.edu.au
DRACO
Coordinators Email
Aaron Hill: House Coordinator aaron.hill@ed.act.edu.au
Christian Riley: House Assistant christian.riley@ed.act.edu.au
Adrian Poole: House Assistant adrian.poole@ed.act.edu.au
HYDRA
Coordinators Email
Heather Mutton: House Coordinator heather.mutton@ed.act.edu.au
David Gould: House Assistant david.gould@ed.act.edu.au
Sayako Aoyagi: House Assistant sayoko.aoyagi@ed.act.edu.au
ORION
Coordinators Email
Rhett Eldred: House Coordinator rhett.eldred@ed.act.edu.au
Sophie Green: House Assistant sophie.green@ed.act.edu.au
Jennifer Cristaudo: House Assistant jennifer.cristaudo@ed.act.edu.au
PHOENIX
Coordinators Email
Trudy Cheesman: House Coordinator trudy.cheesman@ed.act.edu.au
Michael Loftus: House Assistant michael.loftus@ed.act.edu.au
Pam Murray: House Assistant pamela.murray@ed.act.edu.au
SCORPIUS
Coordinators Email
Natalia Pelle: House Coordinator natalia.pelle@ed.act.edu.au
Troy Atkins: House Assistant troy.atkins@ed.act.edu.au
Keturah Manning: House Assistant keturah.manning@ed.act.edu.au
TUCANA
Coordinators Email
Karen Burton: House Coordinator karen.burton@ed.act.edu.au
Angela Rega: House Assistant angela.rega@ed.act.edu.au
Annette Jamieson: House Assistant annette.jamieson@ed.act.edu.au